Bellarine Camera Club

The Bellarine Camera Club’s first meeting was held in July 2009 at the St Leonards Community Space, Blanche Street, St Leonards.  A number of volunteer coordinators at the Community Space and the earliest recorded members Shane Coles and John Gallichan formed the Bellarine Camera Club.

The objectives of the Club are to:

  • Encourage and promote photographic art and techniques
  • Exchange ideas and encourage mutual assistance among the members
  • Organise and hold lectures, workshops, demonstrations and exhibitions
  • Hold competitions, both within the club and with other clubs in the area

Attendances at the meetings increased quickly and a member list from May 2010 shows a total of 44 members. A July 2014 Annual General Meeting document shows a total of 50 - 60 members. Because of a surge in membership numbers it was decided to move to bigger premises, so the move to Springdale Community Centre in Drysdale took place, in late 2010.

Some events of importance:

  • The Annual Photo Exhibition was first held Easter 2011 at Springdale Hall, Drysdale. This has become an annual event.
  • Launch of Club Website, September 2011
  • Became Incorporated 2012
  • Joined VAPS 2012
  • Opened the club’s first Bank Account with ANZ February 2012. This was later transferred to

Bendigo Bank to have access to their Community funding.

  • Annual Membership Fees introduced July 2012.

The position of President was held by Kim Novak 2010/11, Darren Humphrey 2011/12 to 2012/13, Shane Coles from 2013/14 to 2016/17 and by Lynne Bryant 2017/18 to the present.

The position of Secretary was held by Val Moss from 2010/12 to 2012/13, by Lynne Bryant from 2013/14 to 2016/17 and by Robyn Curtis from 2017/18 to the present.

The position of Treasurer was held by John Gallichan from 2010/11 to 2013/14 and by Vikki Gage since 2014/15.

The committee has had a good representation of members over the years, reflecting the willingness of members to become involved in running the club. Membership currently stands at 40.